Beaumont Leys



Competency Curriculum

Teaching team:

Teacher

Roles

Contact Email

Miss Trolley

Competency Curriculum Leader

LTrolley@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Ms Staley

Asst. Head Teacher & CC Teacher

PStaley@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Wigston Science & CC Teacher

AWigston@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Gadher Art & CC Teacher

CGadher@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs McCallum Creative Arts FTL & CC Teacher

DMcCallum@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Smeaton DT & CC Teacher

GSmeaton@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Pabla Science FTL & CC Teacher

JPabla@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Simpson Science Lead Teacher & CC Teacher

JSimpson@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Fitzgerald Science & CC Teacher

RFitzgerald@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Yusuf Science & CC Teacher

RYusuf@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Mistry DT & CC Teacher

TMistry@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Perry DT & CC Teacher

VPerry@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

KS3 Curriculum

Year 7

Competency Curriculum has been designed to explicitly teach the competencies that students require to become successful learners in all subjects.  It also reinforces key BLS messages and behaviours and has been designed to support a successful transition from KS2.

Year 7 students will learn about the following areas of competency: Planning, Adapting, Working with and from others, Thinking, Investigating resources and Understanding yourself as a learner. 

This is achieved through the following modules:

. Responsibility

. Multiple Intelligences

. Target setting

. Careers

. Communication

. Refugees

. Humanitarianism

. Endangered Species

. Famous people

As part of the Competency Curriculum we also enhance and develop student’s ICT skills. Topics that we cover include:

  • E-safety skills
  • Office 365 skills
  • How to use Satchel One
  • Workplace health and safety
  • Basic coding
  • Online research skills
  • Using Microsoft Office – including Word and PowerPoint

KS3 Assessment

Students are not formally assessed in Competency Curriculum.  There will be ongoing pieces of work and homework that will be marked and evaluated by the teacher.  From this, students will regularly make improvements and therefore make progress.