Beaumont Leys



Design Technology

Teaching team:

Faculty Team

Roles

Contact Email

Mrs Ramji

Head of Faculty

DRamji@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Ryder

Design & Technology Teacher

RRyder@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Perry

Design & Technology Teacher

VPerry@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Mistry

Design & Technology Teacher

TMistry@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Smeaton

Design & Technology Teacher

GSmeaton@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mrs Surman

Technician

SSurman@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Miss Coleby

Technician

EColeby@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Mr Rigg

Technician

DRigg@beaumontleys.leicester.sch.uk

Facilities:

The faculty is very lucky to benefit from a range of workshops including two wood/plastic specialist rooms, one Textiles and one large, modern kitchen, which features both a spacious practical area and a quiet theory space. We also have one multipurpose classroom and access to ICT facilities.

KS3 Curriculum:

Year 7 &8

KS3 Curriculum

Elephant pen holder

Product Design

Learning life skills

Food

Monster bags

Textiles

KS3 Assessment:

Students in KS3 are assessed on the same 1-9 grading system as GCSE this allows for more effective progression during their time at Beaumont Leys School. All students are placed on a custom flight path from year 7, this ties in with the progress expected for each pupil in Design & Technology. The three main areas of assessment are identification and investigation, designing and making and finally analysis and evaluating. Students are guided through their grades by using an assessment grid in their booklets. Theory knowledge is taught alongside construction activities to enable technical knowledge to develop in relation to the theoretical element of the course.

        

KS4: Product design (includes textiles): AQA GCSE Design & Technology (Year 9 - 11)

AQA GCSE Food Preparation and Nutrition (Year 10 and 11)

WJEC Hospitality and Catering Level ½ (Year 11)

What's assessed?

Core technical principles / Specialist technical principles / Designing and making principles

How it's assessed

Written exam: 2 hours - 50% of GCSE (At the end of year 11)

Non-exam assessment (NEA)  50% of GCSE

Exam Specification: http://www.aqa.org.uk/subjects/design-and-technology/gcse/design-and-technology-8552

http://www.technologystudent.com/

http://www.mr-dt.com/default.htm

GCSE Food Preparation & Nutrition

The course is designed to equip students with an array of culinary techniques, as well as developing their knowledge of nutrition, food traditions and kitchen safety.

How it's assessed?

Written exam: 1hr: 45 mins - 50% of GCSE (At the end of year 11)

Non-exam assessment (NEA) 50% of GCSE (2 separate assessments)

http://illuminate.digital/aqafood/

The subject content is split in 5 main areas which are listed below.

  1. Food, nutrition and health
  2. Food science
  3. Food safety
  4. Food choice
  5. Food provenance